Ohio’s Faircrest Middle School uses LST for drug abuse prevention

Faircrest Middle School of Stark County, Ohio is utilizing Botvin LifeSkills Training for its fourth year as a substance abuse prevention program for grades six through eight.

LST was funded by the Mental Health and Recovery Services Board of Stark County back in 2008 and Faircrest has been using it ever since.

Unlike programs of the past that utilized scare tactics to influence students, LifeSkills Training “encourages students to examine their motivation and goals and how substance use will interfere with them.” Faircrest Middle School students said the following about LST:

  • “My grampa has smoked for years and now needs to carry an oxygen tank and ride in a scooter. I don’t want to be like my grampa when I’m 60.”
  • “I don’t want to do drugs because I don’t want to disappoint my parents or be a bad role model for my younger brother and sister.”
  • “If I do drugs it can prevent me from becoming a lawyer.”

Source: The Press-News.

Leave a Reply

